November 29, 2023

De La Salle University signed a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) for the establishment of the Standard Insurance DLSU Accountancy Scholarship Grant on August 9 at the Villavicencio Boardroom of the Henry Sy, Sr. Hall.

DLSU President Br. Bernard S. Oca FSC signed for the University while Standard Insurance executives, Ms. Patricia Echauz-Chilip (BSA ‘93), Chairman & CEO, Ms. Sophia Echauz-Chua (BSA ‘97), Executive Vice President & CFO, Magali Echauz (BSA 2019), Accounting Associate, represented the company. Standing as witnesses to the MOA signing were Associate Dean of the Ramon V. del Rosario College of Business Dr. Cynthia Cudia for Dean Dr. Emilina Sarreal, and Mr. Don Therone Gueco. 

The grant shall cover the full amount of tuition and fees, with monthly stipend, for two (2) accountancy scholars from the first year until graduation. The grant will have its first scholar beginning with the academic year of 2023 – 2024.  

With the initiative of their patriarch, Mr. Ernesto T. Echauz (DLSC HS 1964 and BS Chemical Engineering 1969), he established the grant to honor his three daughters who are Accountancy graduates of DLSU. Mr. Echauz is a recipient of the 2002 Lasallian Achievers Award in Banking and Finance given by the DLSU Professional School of Business and the De La Salle Alumni Association. 

Standard Insurance has been constantly engaged in various corporate social responsibility programs. With his leadership, he fosters a sense of pride among its employees by personally involving them to give back and to make an impact in their communities  through “Bayanihan Fundraising”.  For every peso contributed by their associates to their chosen community, Standard Insurance will match that donation.  As the company celebrates its 65th year in the business, Standard Insurance has channeled its growth back into the local community and instilled the values of humility, gratitude and excellence among its stakeholders. 

In his message, Br. Bernie expressed his appreciation to the Echauz family for entrusting DLSU with the scholarship grant.  “I believe that combining our resources and expertise will create meaningful opportunities for the next generation of CPAs and business leaders.” 

Other DLSU administrators who graced the event were Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration Ramon Trajano, Advancement and Alumni Relations Office Executive Director Edwin Reyes, Office for Admissions and Scholarships Director Grichelle Prado, and Chair of the Accountancy Department Dr. Jerwin Tubay.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *