November 29, 2023

UPLB Alumni Center named after former UP regent NT Gonzalez


The building everyone calls the Alumni Center is now officially the Nelia T. Gonzalez Hall.

UPLB constituents led by Chancellor Jose V. Camacho, Jr., UP officials led by President Angelo Jimenez, and officers and members of the UPLB Alumni Association (UPLBAA) participated in the renaming ceremony on June 16.

Senator Cynthia Villar and former UP president Danilo L. Concepcion were also in attendance as well as close relatives of the Gonzaleses.

The event began with a celebration of the Holy Mass followed by the program proper.

The renaming ceremony commenced with an opening address delivered by Chancellor Camacho who highlighted the significance of the occasion. 

Following his remarks, Atty. Concepcion gave a reflection on Gonzalez’ remarkable contributions to society. 

Sen. Villar then took the podium where she passionately underscored Gonzalez’ outstanding achievements and emphasized her influential role in the UP alumni community. 

Two performers gave special musical performances for the program’s intermission–Dr. Ronilo Jose D. Flores, a faculty member at the Institute of Biological Sciences, and Janette M. Mamino.

Dr. Eileen Lorena M. Mamino, director of the Office of Alumni Relations, expressed her gratitude and shared insightful reflections on Gonzalez’ enduring legacy. 

In response, Alfredo T. Gonzalez delivered a heartfelt message on behalf of his mother, expressing their family’s profound appreciation for the recognition bestowed upon her.

Dr. Flores and Mamino returned to the stage for a final collaborative performance, leaving the audience in awe of their talent. The ceremony drew to a close with closing remarks delivered by Dr. Cristino M. Collado, vice president of the UPLB Alumni Association (UPLBAA), who expressed his gratitude to all participants for their presence and involvement in the event. (Justine Jamille Manipol)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *